The Kitten Love Scholar

the kittens

I’ve taken to loving the cats
with all my heart.

They’re the only living, breathing remnant
I have of you.

I tell them I love them at night
in the dark before I go to sleep.

I greet them when I come home and
walk through the door,
regardless how my day was,
I make it a point to talk to them jovially.

Somehow, I think I do these things for you.

Ways of tenderness and lightheartedness
I probably never did enough around you.

I am a devotee these days, a scholar.

I think. I wait. I fast.

Leave a Reply

