The Unremembered Entrance

Metropolitan Ave

I don’t even remember the front doorway

I don’t remember where the mailbox was

I remember the clangs of the heels on her boots
that first night

following her up the hard stairs to fuck

I remember the stairway would echo

and make her appear so womanly with that momentum

always

everyday she passed in this stairway it was
like this, kind of like an old hospital

I remember waiting for her like a dog waiting to be fed

I could smell her scent when she was two floors below

but I don’t remember any features of that stairway
or front doorway

I do remember the outside of the door was caked up layers of
black paint with graffiti and spray paint all over it

I remember lots of specs of silver and one loud zig zag mark
in pink

I halfway recall the door handle was brass and scratched up
very badly

I entered that door about twelve hundred times between
august and march

one time was after I picked up a winter care package
from my mother
at the post office around the corner

she sent us flannel snowman sheets

Leave a Reply

