Summer The Almost Killer

summer

The summer kills everything here

Somehow it didn’t kill my love for you

I wished it would have, but it didn’t

Somehow it still survived and
subsists to go with me into the Fall
with
the cells of my skin and my lungs
towards the winter closets
and the portals towards outerspace

So maybe the summer doesn’t kill
everything,
but it damn near did a good job

Dead grass. Dead grasshoppers.
Broken rocks and cracked asphalt.

Summer passes over the
landscapes of loss

So you become the road to Amarillo
in my heart

Leave a Reply

