Ignorance Of Ecosystems

meat eatersWhen I walk outside and
the birds whistle
MEAT EATER. MEAT EATER.
it makes me rearrange
my constitution

what is it I think
I’ll be doing?

I could be dismantling
the muscle of chicken
in my molars
with the heckling of
its relatives
still ringing in my ear

I could be sitting in
air conditioning
doing this
in an innocuous manner
hidden away from the
Texas sun
of which
the birds have long
to weather

the sun might smash and
crush
their heads
leaving them to dry in
the air of their sacred
singing

so these songs
are statements

or liberations

Leave a Reply

