Unable To Walk

At the grocery store                
I can’t proceed
without you.
The aisles overstocked with boringness.
The spires of crumbling 300 year old
cathedrals don’t wait outside
like they did in Mexico.
Trophy wives in workout clothes pick fruit.
Their jewelry dangles.
I want to walk rebelliously away from them
and into the eartheness of your arms,
how you used to hug me with soul and might.
My heart beats tepidly,
especially at night,
sometimes I feel the beats
and think they might stop.
I can’t proceed without you.

Leave a Reply

