Invariable Genetics

When you
were in the
bathroom
with me
in the morning
getting ready
or
after a shower
I used
to look into
the mirror
at your
chestnut brown hair
and watch it
curl down your breasts
with your watery blue eyes there
flashing the lights
on
your potent curves
and the overall
queenly distinction
of your face

I would
think about
how good-looking
a son or daughter
from us
would be

I used to
look into the mirror

I used to
look into the mirror

I don’t look in the mirror anymore

You’re gone

That bathroom only
exists in outer space
floating quickly away
from Earth
and
journeying deeper
into the Universe

to a place no one will ever know

2 thoughts on “Invariable Genetics

  1. Good site you have here.. It’s difficult to find high quality writing like
    yours these days. I honestly appreciate individuals
    like you! Take care!!

    • Thanks for your kind words. Most of the world doesn’t care about poetry much these days. But I don’t let that stop me. Life still happens and the Universe unfolds. That makes me write.

Leave a Reply

